Twenty-Six

February 14, 2012 § Leave a comment

Over the past weekend, I’ve officially rolled into the later parts of my mid-twenties.  26.  Actually, according to my friend Maria, I’ve hit my late-twenties, but that is a truth I don’t know if I’m ready to accept yet.  I think I’ll just peacefully enjoy my mid-twenties for another year or so.

One of the things I love most about birthdays is the random messages, calls, facebook posts you receive from people like your friends parents, your high school church counselor, your best friend as she sneaks away from work, your long lost relatives, etc.  Some people may find the “Happy Birthday!”s somewhat empty and flippant, but I find them to be perfect tokens of thoughtfulness from people all around you.  They serve as little reminders to both you, and the person wishing it to you, of the bond of friendship and connection you shared at some point in life.  I firmly believe that life is not a series of accidents, so I am thankful for all the reminders of the people I’ve been lucky to come across.

So Thank You.

 

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Twenty-Six at flutterings of a changebird.

meta

